Make. Your. Bed.

If you are never able to do the little things right, you will never be able to do the BIG things right…

 ***BEEP BEEP BEEP!***

  My alarm shouts out like a Regimental Sergeant Major… I roll over in bed, Sophie, my annoying little cat has spent the whole night in the room, slap bang between my feet at the end of the bed. I give her a quick stroke, say good morning and roll out onto the floor (I love her really, but don’t tell her I’m more of a dog person, she’d be mortified!) My first job of the day? To make the bed.

 For me, Life, is a series of challenges, crammed into a finite number of years. There is one major lesson I have learnt from my days of being an Air Cadet, from my Dad, from a youtube speech, and from some recent personal hurdles that I have, and still are, jumping. Every morning at Cadet camp, our instructors would walk into the barracks room to inspect our beds. If you did it right, the corners would be square, the covers tight, the pillow just below the headboard and the spare blanket neatly folded at the end of the bed. It was a simple task, mundane at best, but every morning, we were required to make our bed to perfection, creases and all.

At the time, as a spotty little teenager, wanting to grow up to be the next James Bond (DAMN I love that theme tune!) or Special Forces Operative, it seemed a little ridiculous. I wanted to be running around shooting at baddies and blowing stuff up!!! But in the last few months, the wisdom of this simple act has already started to prove its power in my life over and over.

If you make your bed every morning, you will have completed the first task of the day. It will fill you with a small sense of pride, and will encourage you to do another task, and another, and another. And by the end of that day, that one task completed will have turned into many tasks completed. It will reinforce the fact that the little things in Life truly matter; if you are never able to do the little things right, you will never be able to do the BIG things right…

And if by chance you have a miserable, horrendous day, (with no coffee), you will come home to a bed that is made. That YOU made! And a made bed gives you encouragement that tomorrow will be better!

So if you want to change the world, start off by making your bed.

 

 

 

One thought on “Make. Your. Bed.

Leave a Reply

